Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Twiggs County, Georgia

Twiggs County Education, Geography, and Historytwiggs County, Georgia Courthouse

Twiggs County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,023. The county was created on December 14, 1809. The county seat is Jeffersonville.  Twiggs county is named for American Revolutionary War general John Twiggs.

Twiggs County is included in the Macon, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

The Twiggs County Courthouse is located in Jeffersonville.

Etymology - Origin of Twiggs County Name

Georgia's 37th county was named for General John Twiggs, a prominent leader in the Revolutionary War and the Indian Wars.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Twiggs County History

Twiggs County was created in 1809, taking its territory from Wilkinson County. Georgia's 37th county was named for General John Twiggs, a prominent leader in the Revolutionary War and the Indian Wars.

There are several sites of interest listed on the National Register of Historic Places: the Hollywood Plantation, the Old Richland Baptist Church (1811), the county courthouse (1903), Gleeson Hall, Bullard house, Charlane Plantation, and Myrick's Mill. LaFayette stopped at this mill during his tour of Georgia in 1825.

Points of Interest

Industrial development in the county centers on the mining and production of kaolin. There are 36 mines and 3,797 acres used for kaolin and sand. Kaolin is the white clay-like mineral used for ceramics and refractories. Timber is the largest agricultural product.

Twiggs County is the geographic center of the state.

Twiggs County shares the Ocmulgee Wildlife Management Area with its southern neighbor, Bleckley County.

Notable Citizens

Dudley Mays Hughes, from Twiggs County, was a four-time member of Congress and the co-author of the Smith Hughes Vocational Education Bill in 1917. This law provided federal aid for vocational education in such areas as agriculture and various technical skills.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 363 square miles (940 km2), of which 358 square miles (930 km2) is land and 4.2 square miles (11 km2) (1.2%) is water.

Twiggs county is located close to the center of Georgia.    The geographical center of Georgia lies in Twiggs County.

Twiggs is in the Ocmulgee River basin and the Oconee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Wilkinson County
  • Southeast: Laurens County; Bleckley County
  • Southwest: Houston County
  • Northwest: Bibb County; Jones County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.


County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge