Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Union County, Georgia

Union County Education, Geography, and HistoryUnion County, Georgia Courthouse

Union County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 21,356. Union County was created on December 3, 1832. The county seat is Blairsville. The county is named in honor of Federal union of the states.

Its Sole commissioner is Lamar Paris, who has served since 2001

Etymology - Origin of Union County Name

The county received its name from a then emerging political party called the "Union Party" that was in existence 28 years before the Civil War started.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Union County History

Union County, the 88th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1832 from the Cherokee Indian territory. Union County was not named for its support of the North in the Civil War. The county received its name from a then emerging political party called the "Union Party" that was in existence 28 years before the Civil War started.

The county seat of Union County is Blairsville, which is the only incorporated community in the county. Blairsville was named for Captain James Blair, a negotiater with the Indians.

The county is rich in Indian lore. Of particular note was a battle between Creek and Cherokee Indians near Blairsville, the site of which was given the name of Slaughter Gap.

Points of Interest

The area increasingly has become a recreational destination since the Tennessee Valley Authority created Nottely Lake on the Nottely River; and the development of Vogel State Park, a popular vacation facility.

Much of Union County lies within the Chattahoochee National Forest and, thus, is under Federal ownership.

Georgia's highest point, Brasstown Bald at 4,784 feet, is in Union County. An observation platform offers a spectacular view of the surrounding Smoky Mountains.

Notable Citizens

Union County claims several famous residents past and present including: Byron Herbert Reese, a poet and author; Arthur Woody, the "Barefoot Ranger," a US Ranger from 1911 to 1945; Joseph E. Brown, Georgia's governor during the Civil War; and Bill Elliot, famous NASCAR driver who now makes his home in Blairsville.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 329 square miles (850 km2), of which 322 square miles (830 km2) is land and 7.1 square miles (18 km2) (2.2%) is water.

 Union county is located in north Georgia. Brasstown Bald, the highest mountain in Georgia, rises in southeast Union County, straddling the Towns County line. Union is mostly in the Tennessee River basin with a small portion in the Chattahoochee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Cherokee County, N.C.
  • Northeast: Clay County, N.C.; Towns County
  • Southeast: White County
  • South: Lumpkin County
  • West: Fannin County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge