Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Walker County, Georgia

Walker County Education, Geography, and HistoryWalker County, Georgia Courthouse

Walker County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 68,756. The county was created on December 18, 1833, from land formerly belonging to the Cherokee Indian Nation. The county seat is LaFayette. The county is named in honor of Major Freeman Walker (1780-1827), a U.S. Senator (1819-1821).

Walker County is part of the Chattanooga, TN-GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Walker County Name

Meaning of County Name


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Walker County History

Walker County, the 99th county created in the state, was formed from part of Cherokee County in 1833. It was named after Major Freeman Walker of Augusta, a lawyer and United States Senator.

Walker County is home to the John B. Gordon Hall which is the oldest standing brick school building in Georgia, completed in 1836.

Points of Interest

Walker County has two of Georgia's top 25 tourist attractions: Chickamauga-Chattanooga Battlefield National Park and Rock City Gardens.

Notable Citizens

There are several notable people from Walker County including John Ross who was the "Principle Chief" of the Cherokees for forty years. He also served in the War of 1812 under Andrew Jackson. Another interesting person from Walker County was Garnet Carter, the inventor of the first miniature golf course, which was on top of Lookout Mountain. He was also the leading force behind the Rock City attraction.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 447 square miles (1,160 km2), of which 446 square miles (1,160 km2) is land and 0.6 square miles (1.6 km2) (0.1%) is water.

 Walker county is located in northwest Georgia. Northern Walker County is in the Tennessee River basin and southern Walker is in the Coosa River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Hamilton County, Tenn.
  • Northeast: Catoosa County; Whitfield County
  • Southeast: Gordon County
  • South: Chattooga County
  • Southwest: DeKalb County, Ala.
  • Northwest: Dade County


Higher Education

Northwestern Technical College and Covenant College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge