Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Washington County, Georgia

Washington County Education, Geography, and HistoryWashington County, Georgia Courthouse

Washington County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 21,187. The county was created on February 25, 1784.  The county seat is Sandersville. Washington county is named for Revolutionary War general (and later President of the United States) George Washington.

Etymology - Origin of Washington County Name

One of Georgia's original counties, it was the first in the nation to be named for President George Washington.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Washington County History

Washington County, the 10th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1783. One of Georgia's original counties, it was the first in the nation to be named for President George Washington. Its first settlers were Revolutionary War veterans, who were given land grants for their service to the country.

Points of Interest

Washington County is the "Kaolin Capital of the World." One of Georgia's most important minerals, kaolin is a white, alumina-silicate clay used in hundreds of products ranging from paper to cosmetics to the nose cones of rockets.

The Official State of Georgia Historical Plates, depicting events and people from the state's history, were designed by Sandersville native Louise Irwin in 1933. The plates are made in England by Wedgewood and are available for sale at the Sandersville Public Library.

About two dozen historical markers are placed throughout the county, most relating to the Civil War. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places are the Francis Plantation, Washington County Courthouse, the Old City Cemetery, North Harris Street Historic District, and Charles Edward Choate Historic District.

Hamburg State Park offers a 225-acre lake with tent and trailer sites, a museum, grist mill fishing, boats and canoes.

Notable Citizens

Two of Georgia's governors called Washington County home: Jared Irwin and Thomas W. Hardwick.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 684 square miles (1,770 km2), of which 678 square miles (1,760 km2) is land and 5.9 square miles (15 km2) (0.9%) is water.

 Washington county is located close to the center of Georgia.    The county is in the Altamaha River basin, the Oconee River basin and the Ogeechee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Glascock County; Jefferson County
  • Southeast: Johnson County
  • Southwest: Wilkinson County
  • Northwest: Baldwin County; Hancock County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.


County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge