Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Wheeler County, Georgia

Wheeler County Education, Geography, and HistoryWheeler County, Georgia Courthouse

Wheeler County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,421.  Wheeler County was created on August 14, 1912. The county seat is Alamo. The county is named in honor of General Joseph Wheeler (1836-1906), a U.S. Congressman and a hero of the War Between the States and the Spanish-American War.

Etymology - Origin of Wheeler County Name

The county was named for General Joseph Wheeler, who served in the Confederate Calvary and later as a US Army officer in the Spanish-American War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wheeler County History

Wheeler County, the 146th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1912 from part of Montgomery County. The county was named for General Joseph Wheeler, who served in the Confederate Calvary and later as a US Army officer in the Spanish-American War.

Wheeler County has two locations listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Wheeler County Courthouse, built in 1915, is a large brick structure featuring columns across the entrance and marble corridors. The Woodland Plantation, constructed in 1870, is a 19-room private residence featuring imported Italian black marble fireplaces, a multi-gabled roof, and ornate mahogany molding.

Another site of historical significance is the Milly Troup Tomb and the Big Oak Tree. According to legend, a young slave who died in 1863 was buried near the home of her master, and an oak tree was planted to shade the grave; however, it is more likely that the young woman was buried near an existing tree. The tombstone is still there, and the tree now measures 30 feet in circumference, with a canopy that spreads 141 feet.

The county's per-capita income makes it the second poorest county in the United States.

Points of Interest

The Little Ocmulgee River forms a natural border on the western side of the county, the Ocmulgee River forms the southern tip of the county, and the Oconee River forms the eastern border. They flow together into the Altamaha River. The area is often referred to as the "three rivers" area.

Little Ocmulgee State Park provides a recreation and conservation area for Wheeler County. Its features include a lodge, restaurant, conference center, 18-hole golf course, lake, fishing, cottages, camp sites, picnic shelters, miniature golf, and playground.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 300 square miles (780 km2), of which 295 square miles (760 km2) is land and 4.8 square miles (12 km2) (1.6%) is water.

 Wheeler county is located close to the center of Georgia.  The county is in the Ocmulgee River basin and the Oconee River basin

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Treutlen County; Montgomery County
  • South: Jeff Davis County
  • Southwest: Telfair County
  • West: Dodge County
  • Northwest: Laurens County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge