Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Wilkinson County, Georgia

Wilkinson County Education, Geography, and HistoryWilkinson County, Georgia Courthouse

Wilkinson County, established in 1803 and named for General James Wilkinson (1757-1825), is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,563. The county was created on May 11, 1803. The county seat is Irwinton. Wilkinson county is named in honor of General James Wilkinson (1757-1825), a hero of the Revolutionary War and of the War of 1812.

Etymology - Origin of Wilkinson County Name

The county was named for General James Wilkinson, an officer of the Revolutionary War and native of Maryland.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wilkinson County History

Wilkinson County, the 29th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1803. The county was named for General James Wilkinson, an officer of the Revolutionary War and native of Maryland.

Irwinton was named for Georgia governor Jared Irwin. Gordon was named for the first president of the Central Georgia Railroad, William Washington Gordon (for whom Gordon County is also named). Allentown is situated at the junction of four counties: Wilkinson, Twiggs, Laurens and Bleckley.

Wilkinson county has lost courthouses to fire in 1829, 1854, 1864 and 1924.

Points of Interest

Wilkinson County has substantial kaolin deposits, which are important to the local economy.

Wilkinson County shares the Beaver Dam with Laurens County, to the southeast. This was once a Wildlife Management Area owned and operated by DNR, but now is privately owned. The Oconee River forms the county's eastern border.

Several interesting attractions include the Swampland Opera House in Toomsboro, and Beaver Creek at Ivy Station, which has a restored caboose, a cane mill and Civil War memorabilia.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 452 square miles (1,170 km2), of which 447 square miles (1,160 km2) is land and 4.6 square miles (12 km2) (1.0%) is water.  

 Wilkinson county is located close to the center of Georgia. The county is in the Oconee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Washington County
  • East: Johnson County
  • Southeast: Laurens County
  • Southwest: Bleckley County; Twiggs County
  • Northwest: Jones County; Baldwin County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge