Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Worth County, Georgia

Worth County Education, Geography, and HistoryWorth County, Georgia Courthouse

Worth County is a county located in the southwestern part of the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 21,679. Worth County was created on December 20, 1853. The county seat is Sylvester. Worth county is named in honor of General William J. Worth (1794-1849), a hero of the Mexican-American War.

Worth County is included in the Albany, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Worth County Name

The county was named for Major General William J. Worth who served in the Mexican War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Worth County History

Worth County obtained its territory from Dooly and Irwin counties in 1853. The county was named for Major General William J. Worth who served in the Mexican War. The Flint River forms a part of the county's western boundary. A dam on the river at the north county line creates Lake Blackshear.

Pindartown, an Indian village of note in pioneer days, was located on the Flint River in Worth County. For years it had the only post office in that section of the state.

Sylvester was originally known as "Isabella Station," but in 1894 the name was changed to honor a prominent local family. The county courthouse burned down in 1982, and has since been rebuilt.

Points of Interest

Worth County is home to Peter Pan Peanut Butter. In fact, every jar is manufactured in Sylvester.

Notable Citizens

Michigan Governor Chase S. Osborne, who made his winter home in Poulan in the early 1900s, built the famous Big Poke and Little Poke mansions in Possum Lane, now tourist attractions.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 575 square miles (1,490 km2), of which 571 square miles (1,480 km2) is land and 4.1 square miles (11 km2) (0.7%) is water.

 Worth county is located in south Georgia. The county is in the Flint River basin, the Ochlockonee River basin and the Suwannee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Crisp County
  • Northeast: Turner County
  • Southeast: Tift County
  • South: Colquitt County
  • Southwest: Mitchell County
  • West: Dougherty County
  • Northwest: Lee County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge