Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Benton County, Indiana

Benton County Education, Geography, and HistoryBenton County, Indiana Courthouse

Benton County is located in the northwest part of the state of Indiana, along the border with Illinois. As of 2010, the county's population was 8,854. Benton County was created on February 18, 1840. The county seat is Fowler. The county is named for Thomas H. Benton, United States Senator from Missouri.  

Benton County is part of the Lafayette, Indiana, Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Benton County Name

Benton County is named for Thomas H. Benton, United States Senator.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Benton County History

Benton County was formed February 18, 1840. It is named for Thomas H. Benton (D), US Senator from Missouri. The original county seat selected in 1843 was Oxford, but after a long struggle between contending factions it was moved to Fowler in 1874.

 The county contains six incorporated towns as well as several small unincorporated settlements. Benton County is divided into 11 Civil Townships as follows: Bolivar, Center, Gilboa, Grant, Hickory Grove, Oak Grove, Parish Grove, Pine, Richland, Union and York.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 406 square miles (1,053 km2), of which 406 square miles (1,052 km2) is land and 0 square miles (0 km2) (0.02%) is water.

Benton county is located in northwest Indiana.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Newton County
  • Northeast: Jasper County; White County
  • Southeast: Tippecanoe County
  • South: Warren County
  • Southwest: Vermilion County, Ill.
  • Northwest: Iroquois County, Ill.


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge