Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Boone County, Indiana

Boone County Education, Geography, and HistoryBoone County, Indiana Courthouse

Boone County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 56,640. Boone County was created on April 1, 1830.  The county seat is Lebanon. The county is named for Frontiersman Daniel Boone.

Etymology - Origin of Boone County Name

The county is named for Daniel Boone.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Boone County History

Boone County was formed April 1, 1830, and named for frontiersman Daniel Boone. The county's commissioners originally selected Jamestown (on the county's southern border) to be the seat, but a law passed January 26, 1832 forced it to be moved to within two miles of the county's center. A new site was chosen in May 1831. Named Lebanon, it became the county seat in 1833.

Boone County is divided into 12 Civil Townships as follows: Center, Clinton, Eagle, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Marion, Perry, Sugar Creek, Union, Washington and Worth. Indiana's center of population is located in eastern Boone County, just northwest of the town of Sheridan in neighboring Hamilton County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 423 square miles (1,096 km2), of which 423 square miles (1,095 km2) is land and 0 square miles (1 km2) (0.10%) is water.

Boone county is located close to the center of Indiana. Lions Depot Park, Starkey Nature Park, Turkey Foot Park, Tom Johnson Park, and Rail Trail Park are a few of the parks located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Clinton County
  • East: Hamilton County
  • Southeast: Marion County
  • South: Hendricks County
  • West: Montgomery County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge