Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Carroll County, Indiana

Carroll County Education, Geography, and HistoryCarroll County, Indiana Courthouse

Carroll County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 20,155.  Carroll County was created on January 7, 1828. The county seat is Delphi. The county is named for Charles Carroll, signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Carroll County is part of the Lafayette, Indiana, Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Carroll County Name

The county is named for Charles Carroll, signer of the Declaration of Independence.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Carroll County History

Carroll County was formed in 1828 and named for Charles Carroll, the last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence, who died in 1832. The county seat of Delphi was established the same year by General Samuel Milroy. The Wabash and Erie Canal, built through the county in 1840 and operating until the early 1870s, is among the county's most significant historical legacies

Carroll County is divided into 14 Civil Townships as follows: Adams, Burlington, Carrollton, Clay, Deer Creek, Democrat, Jackson, Jefferson, Liberty, Madison, Monroe, Rock Creek, Tippecanoe and Washington.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 375 square miles (971 km2); 372 square miles (964 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) of it (0.75%) is water.

Carroll county is located close to the center of Indiana. George Obear Overlook Park, Riley Park, Stone Barn Park, and Trailhead Park are a few of the parks located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Cass County
  • Southeast: Howard County
  • South: Clinton County
  • Southwest: Tippecanoe County
  • Northwest: White County


Public schools in Carroll County are administered by the Carroll Consolidated School District and the Delphi Community School Corporation.

High schools and middle schools

  • Delphi Community High School
  • Delphi Community Middle School
  • Carroll Consolidated School

Elementary schools

  • Carroll Elementary School
  • Delphi Community Elementary School

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge