Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Cass County, Indiana

Cass County Education, Geography, and HistoryCass County, Indiana Courthouse

Cass County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, its population was 38,966. Cass County was created on April 13, 1829.  The county seat is Logansport. The county is named for General Lewis Cass, Governor of Michigan Territory and United States Secretary of State.

Cass County comprises the Logansport, NY Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Cass County Name

The county is named for General Lewis Cass, Governor of Michigan Territory and United States Secretary of State, and President Andrew Jacksons Secretary of War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cass County History

Cass County was formed in 1828. It is named for Gen. Lewis Cass, Governor of Michigan Territory through 1831. Cass was US Secretary of State just prior to the outbreak of the Civil War.

Cass County is divided into 14 Civil Townships as follows: Adams, Bethlehem, Boone, Clay, Clinton, Deer Creek, Eel, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Miami, Noble, Tipton and Washington.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 415 square miles (1,075 km2), of which 413 square miles (1,069 km2) is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) (0.50%) is water.

 Cass county is located in north Indiana. The Wabash River flows through the county, mostly from east to west, and is joined by the Eel River in Logansport.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Fulton County
  • East: Miami County
  • Southeast: Howard County
  • Southwest: Carroll County
  • West: White County
  • Northwest: Pulaski County


Public schools in Cass County are administered by the Logansport Community School Corporation, the Pioneer Regional School Corporation and the Southeastern School Corporation.

High Schools and Middle Schools

  • Columbia Middle School
  • Lewis Cass High School
  • Lincoln Middle School
  • Logansport High School
  • Pioneer Junior - Senior High School

Elementary Schools

  • Columbia Elementary School
  • Fairview Elementary School
  • Franklin Elementary School
  • Galveston Elementary School
  • Landis Elementary School
  • Pioneer Elementary School
  • Thompson Elementary School

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge