Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Clinton County, Indiana

Clinton County Education, Geography, and HistoryClinton County, Indiana Courthouse

Clinton County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 33,224.  Clinton County was created on March 1, 1830. The county seat is Frankfort. This county is named for DeWitt Clinton, Governor of New York.

Etymology - Origin of Clinton County Name

The county is named for DeWitt Clinton, Governor of New York.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Clinton County History

Clinton County officially came into existence on March 1, 1830, and was named in honor of DeWitt Clinton, the seventh Governor of New York State and architect of the Erie Canal. The act forming the county was approved by the Indiana General Assembly on January 29, 1830, and created Clinton from the eastern parts of neighboring Tippecanoe County.

Clinton County is divided into 14 Civil Townships as follows: Center, Forest, Jackson, Johnson, Kirklin, Madison, Michigan, Owen, Perry, Ross, Sugar Creek, Union, Warren and Washington

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 405 square miles (1,050 km2), of which 405 square miles (1,049 km2) is land and 0 square miles (0 km2) (0.04%) is water.

Clinton county is located close to the center of Indiana. Dorner Park and Gem City Park are a few of the parks located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Carroll County
  • Northeast: Howard County
  • East: Tipton County
  • Southeast: Hamilton County
  • South: Boone County
  • Southwest: Montgomery County
  • Northwest: Tippecanoe County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge