Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Dearborn County, Indiana

Dearborn County Education, Geography, and HistoryDearborn County, Indiana Courthouse

Dearborn County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 50,047.  Dearborn County was created on March 7, 1803. The county seat and largest city is Lawrenceburg. The county is named for U.S. Secretary of War Henry Dearborn.

Dearborn County is part of the Cincinnati-Middletown, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Dearborn County Name

The county is named for Dr. Henry Dearborn (DR), an officer in the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dearborn County History

Dearborn County was formed in 1803. It was named for Dr. Henry Dearborn (DR), an officer in the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812. Dearborn was US Secretary of War at the time the County was named. Early growth was centered around Lawrenceburg which was an important railroad junction connecting two of the regions major rail lines

Dearborn County is divided into 14 Civil Townships as follows: Caesar Creek, Center, Clay, Harrison, Hogan, Jackson, Kelso, Lawrenceburg, Logan, Manchester, Miller, Sparta, Washington and York.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 307 square miles (795 km2), of which 305 square miles (790 km2) is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) (0.60%) is water.

 Dearborn county is located in southeast Indiana. Part of the southeastern county line is shaped by the Ohio River. The county is a combination of flatlands in the northwest and rolling hills divided by several creeks creating long valleys throughout the county. The main waterways are the Whitewater River in the northwest corner of the county, the east and west forks of Tanners Creek, North and South Hogan Creeks, and Laughery Creek.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Franklin County
  • Northeast: Butler County, Ohio
  • East: Hamilton County, Ohio
  • Southeast: Boone County, Ky.
  • South: Ohio County
  • West: Ripley County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge