Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

DeKalb County, Indiana

DeKalb County Education, Geography, and HistoryDeKalb County, Indiana Courthouse

DeKalb County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 42,223. DeKalb County was created on May 1, 1837. The county seat is Auburn. The county is named for Johann de Kalb, German noble who trained colonial soldiers for the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of DeKalb County Name

The county was named for General De Kalb, an American Revolutionary War officer who was of German descent.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

DeKalb County History

DeKalb County was organized February 2, 1837 becoming effective May 1, 1837. Auburn became the County Seat May 1, 1837. First settled in 1836 by W. Park, by 1849 it contained fifty houses, all of wood, and 300 inhabitants; the public buildings consisted of a Courthouse along with offices for the Clerk, Recorder and Auditor.

A disastrous fire occurred February 8, 1913, which destroyed part of the county records, among which were all the records of the County Clerk.

DeKalb County is divided into 15 Civil Townships as follows: Butler, Concord, Fairfield, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, Keyser, Newville, Richland, Smithfield, Spencer, Stafford, Troy, Union and Wilmington.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 364 square miles (942 km2), of which 363 square miles (940 km2) is land and 1 square mile (3 km2) (0.27%) is water.

DeKalb County county is located in north Indiana.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Steuben County
  • Northeast: Williams County, Ohio
  • East: Defiance County, Ohio
  • South: Allen County
  • West: Noble County
  • Northwest: Lagrange County


School districts

DeKalb County Central United School District
DeKalb County Eastern Community School District
Garrett-Keyser-Butler Community School District
Hamilton Community Schools

Private schools

Lakewood Park Christian School
St. Joseph's Catholic School (Garrett)
Zion Lutheran Pre-School (Garrett)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge