Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Floyd County, Indiana

Floyd County Education, Geography, and HistoryFloyd County, Indiana Courthouse

Floyd County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2012, the population was 75,283. Floyd County was created on January 2, 1819. The county seat is New Albany. The county is named for either Colonel John Floyd, a War of 1812 hero and Governor of Virginia, or early settler and state legislator Davis Floyd.

Floyd County is part of the Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Floyd County Name

The county is named for either Colonel John Floyd, a War of 1812 hero and Governor of Virginia, or early settler and state legislator Davis Floyd.  


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Floyd County History

Formerly part of Clark and Harrison Counties, through the efforts of the Scribner family (founders of New Albany), Floyd County was organized January 2, 1819 and made effective one month later.

Floyd County is divided into 5 Civil Township as follows: Franklin, Georgetown, Greenville, Lafayette and New Albany.

Floyd County, originally the Shawnee Indians hunting ground, was conquered for the United States by George Rogers Clark during the American Revolutionary War from the British. For his services he was awarded with large tracts of land in Indiana including almost all of present day Floyd County. After the war Clark sold off parcels of land to settlers who quickly began entering the region as soon as peace returned.

In 1818 New Albany was a large enough city to become a county seat and form a new county, local leaders sent Nathaniel Scribner and John K. Graham were sent to then capitol Corydon, Indiana to petition the Indiana General Assembly. Floyd County was approved on January 2, 1819 by the General Assembly and formally became Floyd County on February 1, 1819. There are two possibilities to the origin of the name of Floyd County. According to the Indiana State Library the county was named for John Floyd, who was a leading Jefferson County, Kentucky pioneer and uncle of Davis Floyd. John died in 1783 when his group was attacked by Indians near present day Bullitt County, Kentucky. It is debated by some that the county was named for Davis who was convicted of aiding Aaron Burr in the treason of 1809. Davis was a local politician of the area, the county's first circuit court judge.

In 1814 New Albany was platted and was established as the county seat on March 4, 1819 where it has since remained. There was an attempt in 1823 to move the county seat but the motion failed. Floyd County would have the largest city in the state for much of the early 19th century, eventually being overtaken by Indianapolis during the Civil War.

Between 1800 and 1860 Floyd County experienced a huge boom in population doubling many times over. A survey in the 1850s found that over half of Indiana's population that made more than $100,000 dollars (USD) a year lived in Floyd County, establishing it as having the richest population in the state.

The Duncan Tunnel, the longest in Indiana, was built in Floyd County in 1881 between New Albany and Edwardsville. The railroad was unable to find a suitable route over the Floyds Knobs so they decided to tunnel through them. The project was originally began by the Air Line but was completed by Southern Railway. It took five years to bore at a cost of $1 million dollars (USD). The Tunnel is 4,311 feet (1,314 m) long.

Floyd County during the 19th century attracted immigrants of Irish, German, French and African American origins. The French settlers located mostly in Floyds Knobs, Indiana. The Irish began arriving in 1817 and in large numbers in 1830 to 1850. German immigrants settled mostly in New Albany and by 1850 about 17% of New Albany's population was from immigrants.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 148 square miles (384 km2), of which 148 square miles (383 km2) is land and 0 square miles (1 km2) (0.21%) is water.

 Floyd county is located in south Indiana. The county is the county with the second-smallest land area in the entire state. Floyds Knobs, located in this county is named after the most prominent geographical feature of the county which are the knobs: steep hills which dot the middle of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Clark County
  • Southeast: Jefferson County, Ky.
  • Southwest: Harrison County
  • Northwest: Washington County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge