Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Fountain County, Indiana

Fountain County Education, Geography, and HistoryFountain County, Indiana Courthouse

Fountain County lies in the western part of the state of Indiana on the east side of the Wabash River. According to the 2000 census, its population was 17,954; the 2010 population was 17,240.  Fountain County was created on April 1, 1826. The county seat is Covington. The county is named for Major James Fontaine, a hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Fountain County Name

The county is named for Major James Fontaine of Kentucky who was killed at Harmar's Defeat (near modern Fort Wayne, Indiana) on  October 22, 1790 during the Northwest Indian War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fountain County History

Parts of Montgomery and Wabash counties were taken to form Fountain county when it was formally organized December 31, 1825, becoming effective April 1, 1826. It was named for Major James Fontaine of Kentucky who was killed at Harmar's Defeat (near modern Fort Wayne, Indiana) on  October 22, 1790 during the Northwest Indian War.

Fountain County is divided into 11 Civil Townships as follows: Cain, Davis, Fulton, Jackson, Logan, Mill Creek, Richland, Shawnee, Troy, Van Buren and Wabash.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 398 square miles (1,031 km2), of which 396 square miles (1,025 km2) is land and 2 square miles (6 km2) (0.56%) is water.

Fountain county is located close to the center of Indiana. Along the Wabash River located are the Portland Arch Nature Preserve and the Miller-Campbell Memorial Tract, a 435-acre preserve.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Tippecanoe County
  • Southeast: Montgomery County
  • South: Parke County
  • Southwest: Vermillion County
  • Northwest: Warren County


Public schools in Fountain County are administered by three bodies. The Attica Consolidated School Corporation, in the northern part of the county, served 964 students during the 2009-2010 school year and includes Attica Elementary School and Attica Junior-Senior High School. The Covington Community School Corporation, in the west, served 1,012 students during the same year and includes Covington Elementary School, Covington Middle School, and Covington High School. In the southeast, the Southeast Fountain School Corporation served 1,279 students and includes Southeast Fountain Elementary School and Fountain Central Junior-Senior High School

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge