Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Fulton County, Indiana

Fulton County Education, Geography, and HistoryFulton County, Indiana Courthouse

Fulton County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 20,836. Fulton County was created on February 7, 1835. The county seat is Rochester. The county is named for Robert Fulton, inventor of the steamboat.

Etymology - Origin of FultonCounty Name

The county is named for Robert Fulton, Famous inventor of the steamboat.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fulton County History

Fulton County was organized February 4, 1836 becoming effective April 1, 1836. It was named for Robert Fulton, inventor of the steamboat. Native Americans in the county believed that a terrible monster lived in Lake Manitou (Indiana) and for that reason they never lived around the lake. Early settlers called in the Devil's Lake and there were many reported sightings of a monster.

Fulton County is divided into 8 Civil Townships as follows: Aubbeenaubbee, Henry, Liberty, Newcastle, Richland, Rochester, Union and Wayne.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 371 square miles (962 km2), of which 369 square miles (954 km2) is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) (0.77%) is water.

Fulton county is located in north Indiana.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Marshall County
  • Northeast: Kosciusko County
  • Southeast: Wabash County; Miami County
  • South: Cass County
  • West: Pulaski County
  • Northwest: Starke County


Public schools in Fulton County are administered by the Caston School Corporation, the Rochester Community School Corporation, Culver Community School Corporation, and the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge