Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Henry County, Indiana

Henry County Education, Geography, and HistoryHenry County, Indiana Courthouse

Henry County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 49,462. Henry County was created on June 1, 1822. The county seat is New Castle. The county is named for Patrick Henry, attorney, orator, and founding father.

Etymology - Origin of Henry County Name

The county is named for Patrick Henry who became a Patriot hero prior to the Revolutionary War for saying, "... give me liberty or give me death." He was later twice elected Governor of Virginia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Henry County History

Henry County was organized formally June 1, 1822. It was named for Patriot Patrick Henry, governor of Virginia.

The first men known to have located in the territory now known as Henry County arrived in the year 1819 and were Daniel and Asa Heaton.

Henry County is divided into 13 Civil Townships as follows: Blue River, Dudley, Fall Creek, Franklin, Greensboro, Harrison, Henry, Jefferson, Liberty, Prairie, Spiceland, Stoney Creek and Wayne.

Henry County is the main setting of the novel Raintree County by Ross Lockridge, Jr.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 395 square miles (1,023 km2), of which 393 square miles (1,018 km2) is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) (0.50%) is water.

Henry county is located close to the center of Indiana. Castle Lake, Giboney Lake, Haven Lake, Summit Lake Reservoir and Westwood Park Reservoir are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Delaware County
  • Northeast: Randolph County
  • East: Wayne County
  • Southeast: Fayette County
  • South: Rush County
  • Southwest: Hancock County
  • Northwest: Madison County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge