Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Huntington County, Indiana

Huntington County Education, Geography, and HistoryHuntington County, Indiana Courthouse

Huntington County is a county located in the state of Indiana. According to Census 2010, the population was 37,124. Huntington County was created on December 2, 1834. The county seat and lone city is Huntington. The county is named for Samuel Huntington, signer the Declaration of Independence.

Huntington County comprises the Huntington, IN Micropolitan Statistical Area and is included in the Fort Wayne-Huntington-Auburn Combined Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Huntington County Name

The county is named for Samuel Huntington, signer of the Declaration of Independence.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

HuntingtonCounty History

Huntington County was organized effective December 2, 1834 and Captain Elias Murray, then a member of the Legislature, proposed the name. Huntington is the County Seat.

Huntington County is divided into 12 Civil Townships as follows: Clear Creek, Dallas, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Lancaster, Polk, Rock Creek, Salamonie, Union, Warren and Wayne.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 388 square miles (1,005 km2), of which 383 square miles (991 km2) is land and 5 square miles (14 km2) (1.38%) is water.

Huntington county is located in northeast Indiana. Salamonie Lake, Matter Park, and Paradise Spring Park are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Whitley County
  • Northeast: Allen County
  • Southeast: Wells County
  • Southwest: Grant County
  • West: Wabash County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge