Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Jennings County, Indiana

Jennings County Education, Geography, and HistoryJennings County, Indiana Courthouse

Jennings County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 28,525. Jennings County was created on February 1, 1817. The county seat is Vernon. The county is named for Jonathan Jennings, the first Governor of Indiana.

Etymology - Origin of Jennings County Name

The county in named for Jonathan Jennings who was Indiana's First Governor.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jennings County History

Jennings County was organized effective February 1, 1817 It was named for the first Governor of Indiana and a nine term congressman, Jonathan Jennings. Jennings was governor when the county was organized

Jennings County is divided into 11 Civil Townships as follows: Bigger, Campbell, Center, Columbia, Geneva, Lovett, Marion, Montgomery, Sand Creek, Spencer and Vernon.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 378 square miles (980 km2), of which 377 square miles (977 km2) is land and 1 square mile (3 km2) (0.30%) is water.

 Jennings county is located in southeast Indiana. The county is a rural area with a majority of the county consisting of personal farms and woodlands.  The county is conveniently located in the center of an imaginary triangle consisting of Indianapolis, IN, Cincinnati, OH, and Louisville, KY and requires only 1 1/4 hour drive time to any of these urban centers.

The county is also home to the Muscatatuck Urban Training Center, located just outside North Vernon, at which various training exercises and scenarios are conducted for homeland security and other similar purposes.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Decatur County; Ripley County
  • Southeast: Jefferson County
  • Southwest: Scott County; Jackson County
  • Northwest: Bartholomew County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge