Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Kosciusko County, Indiana

Kosciusko County Education, Geography, and HistoryKosciusko County, Indiana Courthouse

Kosciusko County is a county located in the state of Indiana. Census 2010 recorded the population at 77,358. The county was created in 1836. The county seat is Warsaw. The county is named after the Polish general Thaddeus Kosciusko who served in the American Revolutionary War and then returned to Poland.

Etymology - Origin of Kosciusko County Name

The county is named for Revolutionary War General Thaddeus Kosciusko.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kosciusko County History

Kosciusko County was organized June 1, 1837. Warsaw, the County Seat, was named in honor of the capital of General Kosciusko's native land. By 1849 it contained good county buildings, two commodious churches and had a population of 400.

Kosciusko County is divided into 17 Civil Townships as follows: Clay, Etna, Franklin, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Lake, Monroe, Plain, Prairie, Scott, Seward, Tippecanoe, Turkey Creek, Van Buren, Washington and Wayne

Geographical features

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 554 square miles (1,436 km2), of which 538 square miles (1,392 km2) is land and 17 square miles (44 km2) (3.04%) is water.

Kosciusko county is located in north Indiana. Wildwood Nature Preserve consists on 240 acres of woods, prairie, farmland and wetlands a few miles east of Silver Lake, is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Elkhart County
  • Northeast: Noble County
  • Southeast: Whitley County
  • South: Wabash County
  • Southwest: Fulton County
  • Northwest: Marshall County


School districts

Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation
Triton School Corporation
Warsaw Community Schools
Wawasee Community School Corporation
Whitko Community School Corporation

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge