Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Lawrence County, Indiana

Lawrence County Education, Geography, and HistoryLawrence County, Indiana Courthouse

Lawrence County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 46,134. Lawrence County was created on March 1, 1818. The county seat is Bedford. The county is named for Captain James Lawrence, hero of the War of 1812.

Etymology - Origin of Lawrence County Name

 The county is named for naval officer Captain James Lawrence, of the Frigate Chesapeake, whose trips to England failed to avert the War of 1812. He was killed in the battle with the Frigate Shannon during that war.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lawrence County History

Lawrence County began its formal existence March 1, 1818. It was named for Capt. James Lawrence, who uttered the famous words "Don't give up the ship" after being mortally wounded during the War of 1812.

Lawrence County is divided into 9 Civil Townships as follows: Bono, Guthrie, Indian Creek, Marion, Marshall, Perry, Pleasant Run, Shawswick and Spice Valley. The township once known as Flinn in now included in portions of Shawswick, Pleasant Run and Guthrie Townships

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 452 square miles (1,171 km2), of which 449 square miles (1,162 km2) is land and 3 square miles (8 km2) (0.72%) is water.

Lawrence county is located in south Indiana. Part of Hoosier National Forest is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Monroe County
  • East: Jackson County
  • Southeast: Washington County
  • South: Orange County
  • Southwest: Martin County
  • Northwest: Greene County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge