Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Monroe County, Indiana

Monroe County Education, Geography, and HistoryMonroe County, Indiana Courthouse

Monroe County is a county located in the state of Indiana. The population was 137,974 at the 2010 census. Monroe County was created on April 10, 1818. The county seat is Bloomington. The county is named for United States President James Monroe.

Monroe County is part of the Bloomington, Indiana, Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Monroe County Name

The county is named for James Monroe who was the fifth President of the United States and author of the "Monroe Doctrine" which proclaims foreign aggression in this hemisphere will be seen as a direct threat against the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Monroe County History

Monroe County was organized April 10, 1818. It was named for James Monroe, fifth President of the United States, who was serving at the time the county was organized.

Monroe County is divided into 11 Civil Townships as follows: Bean Blossom, Benton, Bloomington, Clear Creek, Indian Creek, Perry, Polk, Richland, Salt Creek, Van Buren and Washington. The township once known as Marion in now included in Benton Township.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 411 square miles (1,065 km2), of which 394 square miles (1,021 km2) is land and 17 square miles (44 km2) (4.13%) is water.

Monroe county is located close to the center of Indiana. Part of the Hoosier National Forest is in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Morgan County
  • East: Brown County
  • Southeast: Jackson County
  • South: Lawrence County
  • Southwest: Greene County
  • Northwest: Owen County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge