Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Montgomery County, Indiana

Montgomery County Education, Geography, and HistoryMontgomery County, Indiana Courthouse

Montgomery County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 38,124. Montgomery County was created on March 1, 1823. The county seat is Crawfordsville. The county is named for General Richard Montgomery, hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Montgomery County Name

The county is named for Revolutionary War Major General Richard Montgomery.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Montgomery County History

Montgomery County began its official existence March 1, 1823. It was named in honor of Richard Montgomery, an American Revolutionary War general killed in 1775 while attempting to capture Quebec City, Canada, in the Battle of Quebec

The first county election was held in Mar 1823. 61 people voted in that first election. The first three county commissioners were elected - William Offield, James Blevins and John McCollough - who then ordered that the first jail and courthouse be built.

Montgomery County is divided into 11 Civil Townships as follows: Brown, Clark, Coal Creek, Franklin, Madison, Ripley, Scott, Sugar Creek, Union, Walnut and Wayne.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 505 square miles (1,309 km2), of which 505 square miles (1,307 km2) is land and 1 square mile (2 km2) (0.16%) is water.

Montgomery county is located close to the center of Indiana. Pine Hills Nature Preserve and Rocky Hollow Falls Canyon Nature Preserve are in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Tippecanoe County
  • Northeast: Clinton County
  • East: Boone County
  • Southeast: Hendricks County
  • South: Putnam County
  • Southwest: Parke County
  • Northwest: Fountain County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge