Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Ohio County, Indiana

Ohio County Education, Geography, and HistoryOhio County, Indiana Courthouse

Ohio County is a county located in southeastern Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 6,128. Ohio County was created on January 15, 1844. The county seat and only incorporated municipality is Rising Sun. The county is named for the Ohio River.

Ohio County borders the state of Kentucky across the Ohio River for which it was named. It is part of the Cincinnati-Middletown, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Ohio County Name

The county is named for the Ohio River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Ohio County History

Ohio County was organized by a legislative act January 15, 1844 becoming effective March 1, 1844 and was one of the last Indiana counties to be created. The origin of this county was undoubtedly due to the County Seat contest in Dearborn County. The question arising as to the constitutionality of its organization has been waived to meet the convenience of the public. Ohio County is the smallest county in the State of Indiana, coming in at 86.7 square miles. It was is named for the Ohio River, which flows past it. 

Ohio County is divided into 4 Civil Townships as follows: Cass, Pike, Randolph and Union.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 87 square miles (227 km2), of which 87 square miles (225 km2) is land and 1 square mile (2 km2) (0.86%) is water.

Ohio county is located in southeast Indiana.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Dearborn County
  • East: Boone County, Ky.
  • Southwest: Switzerland County
  • Northwest: Ripley County


Ohio County has two schools managed by a single school corporation. The Ohio County Elementary-Middle School served a total of 636 students during the 2009-2010 school year. Rising Sun High School served a total of 264 students during the same period

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge