Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Pike County, Indiana

Pike County Education, Geography, and HistoryPike County, Indiana Courthouse

Pike County is a county located in the Southwest part of the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 12,845. Pike County was created on February 1, 1817. The county seat is Petersburg. The county is named for Zebulon M. Pike, explorer of the American West.

Pike County is part of the Jasper Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Pike County Name

The county is named for General Zebulon M. Pike, who found the source of the Mississippi River and discovered Pike's Peak. He fell at the capture of York on April 27, 1813.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pike County History

Pike County was organized on February 1, 1817. It was named for Zebulon Pike, mostly famous for the Pike Expedition of 1806 - 1807, exploring the southwest portion of the Louisiana Purchase. Pike also fought at the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811. Pike was killed, in 1813, during the War of 1812.

From 1959 to 1963 Vance Hartke and Homer E. Capehart were the US Senators for Indiana, both from Pike County.

Pike County is divided into 9 Civil Townships as follows: Clay, Jefferson, Lockhart, Logan, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Patoka and Washington.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 341 square miles (883 km2), of which, 336 square miles (871 km2) of it is land and 5 square miles (13 km2) of it is water.

Pike county is located in southwest Indiana. Part of the Patoka River National Wildlife Refuge and Management Area is located in this county.


Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Daviess County
  • East: Dubois County
  • South: Warrick County
  • Southwest: Gibson County
  • Northwest: Knox County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge