Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Pulaski County, Indiana

Pulaski County Education, Geography, and HistoryPulaski County, Indiana Courthouse

Pulaski County is a county located in the state of Indiana. According to the 2010 US census, the population was 13,402. Pulaski County was created on May 6, 1840. The county seat is Winamac. The county is named for Kazimierz Pułaski, Polish-born noble who led the colonial cavalry in the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Pulaski County Name

The county is named for Count Kazimierz Pulaski, who was killed in the Revolution War during the 1779 attack on Savannah.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pulaski County History

Pulaski County began its official existence May 6, 1840. The county was  named for Kazimierz Pułaski, an ally of the Americans during the Revolutionary War. He was killed in 1779 at the Siege of Savannah. An adjacent County, Jasper, was also named for a hero of Savannah.

Pulaski County is divided into 12 Civil Townships as follows: Beaver, Cass, Franklin, Harrison, Indian Creek, Jefferson, Monroe, Rich Grove, Salem, Tippecanoe, Van Buren and White Post.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 435 square miles (1,126 km2), of which 434 square miles (1,123 km2) is land and 1 square mile (2 km2) (0.20%) is water.

Pulaski county is located in north Indiana. Tippecanoe State Park, Berns-Meyer Nature Preserve, and Jasper-Pulaski Fish & Wildlife Area are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Starke County
  • Northeast: Marshall County
  • East: Fulton County
  • Southeast: Cass County
  • Southwest: White County
  • West: Jasper County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge