Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Spencer County, Indiana

Spencer County Education, Geography, and HistorySpencer County, Indiana Courthouse

Spencer County is a county located in the state of Indiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 20,952. Spencer County was created on February 1, 1818. The county seat is Rockport. The county is named for Captain Spier Spencer, hero of the Battle of Tippecanoe.

Etymology - Origin of Spencer County Name

The county is named for War of 1812 here Captain Spier Spencer, of Harrison County, who was killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Spencer County History

Spencer County was organized by an act of the Legislature, which became effective on February 1, 1818. It was named for Capt. Spier Spencer, killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811.

Abraham Lincoln lived in Spencer county from 1816 to 1830, between the ages seven and twenty-one. His family moved to Illinois in 1830. The Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial is located at the site of the Lincoln family farm.

Spencer County is divided into 9 Civil Townships as follows: Carter, Clay, Grass, Hammond, Harrison, Huff, Jackson, Luce and Ohio.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 401 square miles (1,039 km2), of which 399 square miles (1,033 km2) is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) (0.64%) is water.

Spencer county is located in south Indiana. Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Dubois County
  • East: Perry County
  • Southeast: Hancock County, Ky.
  • South: Daviess County, Ky.
  • Northwest: Warrick County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge