Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Tippecanoe County, Indiana

Tippecanoe County Education, Geography, and HistoryTippecanoe County, Indiana Courthouse

Tippecanoe County is a county located in the northwest quadrant of the state of Indiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 172,780. Tippecanoe County was created on March 1, 1826. The county seat is Lafayette. The county is named for the Tippecanoe River and the Battle of Tippecanoe.

Tippecanoe County is part of the Lafayette, Indiana, Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Tippecanoe County Name

The county is named for its proximity to the Tippecanoe River and/or the War of 1812 Battle of Tippecanoe; the Commander, William H. Harrison, became the 9th President of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Tippecanoe County History

Tippecanoe County was formed March 1, 1826, and named for the anglicization of "Kethtippecanoogi", a Miami term meaning "place of the succor fish people." (Kriebel, Robert C. - Tippecanoe at 2000: A Hoosier County Recalls Its Past). The county is best known for the Battle of Tippecanoe and Purdue University. The Tippecanoe County Courthouse, built in 1881, is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Tippecanoe County is divided into 13 Civil Townships as follows: Fairfield, Jackson, Lauramie, Perry, Randolph, Sheffield, Shelby, Tippecanoe, Union, Wabash,Washington, Wayne and Wea.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 503 square miles (1,303 km2). 500 square miles (1,294 km2) of it is land and 8 km2 (3sq mi) of it (0.65%) is water.

Tippecanoe county is located close to the center of Indiana. Fairfield Lakes is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: White County
  • Northeast: Carroll County
  • Southeast: Clinton County
  • South: Montgomery County
  • Southwest: Fountain County
  • West: Warren County
  • Northwest: Benton County


Public schools in rural/suburban Tippecanoe County are administered by the Tippecanoe School Corporation, while those in the cities are under either the Lafayette School Corporation or West Lafayette Community School Corporation. Purdue and Ivy Tech each have campuses at other sites in Indiana.

Universities and colleges

Purdue University
Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge