Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Tipton County, Indiana

Tipton County Education, Geography, and HistoryTipton County, Indiana Courthouse

Tipton County is located in central Indiana, north of the state capital of Indianapolis. According to the 2010 census, the population was 15,936. Tipton County was created on May 1, 1844. The county seat is Tipton. The county is named for John Tipton, United States Senator.

Etymology - Origin of Tipton County Name

The county is named for War of 1812 hero John Tipton who was a veteran of the Battle of Tippecanoe and at the time of his death in 1839 a United States Senator.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Tipton County History

Tipton County was organized May 1, 1844. It was named for John Tipton, a soldier of the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811. Tipton served as United States Senator for Indiana from 1831 until shortly before his death in 1839. The county has four incorporated towns with a total population of about 7,000, as well as many small unincorporated communities. Three Indiana state roads and one US Route cross the county, as do two railroad lines.

Tipton County is divided into 6 Civil Townships as follows: Cicero, Jefferson, Liberty, Madison, Prairie and Wildcat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 260 square miles (674 km2), of which 260 square miles (674 km2) is land and 0 square miles (0 km2) (0.01%) is water.

Tipton county is located close to the center of Indiana. Most of the county consists of level  plains with elevations from 850 feet (260 m) to 900 feet (270 m) above sea level.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Grant County
  • Southeast: Madison County
  • South: Hamilton County
  • West: Clinton County
  • Northwest: Howard County


Tipton County has six schools, managed by three school corporations

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge