Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Union County, Indiana

Union County Education, Geography, and HistoryUnion County, Indiana Courthouse

Union County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 7,516. Union County was created on February 1, 1821. The county seat is Liberty. The county is named because it united sections of three adjacent counties into one new entity.

Etymology - Origin of Union County Name

Numerous suggestions regarding the naming of this county exist, however, it is probable that the name sprung from the hope that it would harmonize the difficulties that existed in relation to the County Seats in Wayne and Fayette counties.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Union County History

Union County was organized February 1, 1821. It was so named because it is the product of a union of parts of Fayette, Franklin and Wayne counties. The first settlers were from Laurens District, South Carolina. John Templeton was the first settler to enter land at the Cincinnati land office in what would become Harmony Township, Union County Indiana. The first county seat was Brownsville, a small town located on the East Fork of the Whitewater River. The seat was moved in 1824 to Liberty, a central location. The primary industry of Union County was and is farming.

Union County is the birthplace of Thomas Warren Bennett, Mary Alice Smith (Little Orphan Annie), Cincinnatus Hiner "Joaquin" Miller, Jay Hall Connaway, Major General Frederick Leroy Martin and Ambrose Burnside.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 165 square miles (428 km2), of which 162 square miles (418 km2) is land and 4 square miles (10 km2) (2.24%) is water.

Union county is located in east Indiana.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Preble County, Ohio
  • Southeast: Butler County, Ohio
  • Southwest: Franklin County
  • West: Fayette County
  • Northwest: Wayne County


Union County is served by the Union County-College Corner Joint School District, the only joint state school district in the state.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge