Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Vermillion County, Indiana

Vermillion County Education, Geography, and HistoryVermillion County, Indiana Courthouse

Vermillion County lies in the western part of the state of Indiana between the Illinois border and the Wabash River. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 16,212.  Vermillion County was created on January 2, 1824. The county seat is Newport. The county is named for the Vermillion River.

Vermillion County is included in the Terre Haute, Indiana, Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Vermillion County Name

The county is named for the Vermillion River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Vermillion County History

Vermillion County was formed February 1, 1824. It was named for the southbound Vermilion River, which flows nearby. The extra "l" in its name distinguishes it from the adjacent Vermilion County, Illinois. This is one of few cases in the United States in which a county borders its namesake in another state.

Vermillion County is divided into 5 Civil Townships as follows: Clinton, Eugene, Helt, Highland and Vermillion.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 260 square miles (673 km2), of which 257 square miles (665 km2) is land and 3 square miles (8 km2) (1.17%) is water.

Vermillion county is located in west Indiana. The county is 37 miles long and averages seven miles wide.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Warren County
  • Northeast: Fountain County
  • Southeast: Parke County
  • South: Vigo County
  • Southwest: Edgar County, Ill.
  • Northwest: Vermilion County, Ill.


The administration of public schools in Vermillion County is divided between two entities. The North Vermillion Community School Corporation administers North Vermillion Junior-Senior High School and North Vermillion Elementary School, both located just north of Cayuga along State Road 63. The South Vermillion Community School Corporation administers schools located in Clinton, including South Vermillion High School, South Vermillion Middle School and three elementary schools: Central, Ernie Pyle and Van Duyn. It also manages the Parke Vermillion Education and Training Interlocal (PVETI) in Hillsdale.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge