Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Warren County, Indiana

Warren County Education, Geography, and HistoryWarren County, Indiana Courthouse

Warren County lies in western Indiana. According to the 2010 census, the population was 8,508. Warren County was created on March 1, 1827. The county seat is Williamsport. The county is named for Dr. Joseph Warren, American Revolutionary War hero.

Etymology - Origin of Warren County Name

The county is named for Revolutionary War hero General Joseph Warren, who fell in the Battle of Bunker Hill.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Warren County History

 Before the arrival of non-indigenous settlers in the early 19th century, the area was inhabited by several Native American tribes. The county was established March 1, 1827 by the Indiana General Assembly. It was named for Dr. Joseph Warren, killed in 1775 at the Battle of Bunker Hill, in which he fought as a private because his commission as a general had not yet taken effect. The short-lived town of Warrenton was the original Warren County seat, chosen by commissioners in March 1828. The next year, however, an act was passed calling for it to be relocated, and in June 1829 it was moved to Williamsport.

 It is one of the most rural counties in the state, with the third-smallest population and the lowest population density at about 23 inhabitants per square mile (8.9/km2). The county has four incorporated towns with a total population of about 3,100,as well as many small unincorporated communities. The county is divided into 12 townships which provide local services

Williamsport was, from 1879 to 1896, the home of James Frank Hanly, who was the Governor of Indiana from 1905 to 1909.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 367 square miles (949 km2); 365 square miles (945 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.47%) is water.

Warren county is located in northwest Indiana. Along the southeastern border of this county, the terrain  is hilly and wooded. The northwest region is made up mainly of flat prairie farmland. The highest free-falling waterfall in the state, Williamsport Falls, is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Benton County
  • East: Tippecanoe County
  • Southeast: Fountain County
  • South: Vermillion County
  • Southwest: Vermilion County, Ill.


The county's four public schools are administered by the Metropolitan School District of Warren County

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge