Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

 County, Indiana

Washington County Education, Geography, and HistoryWashington County, Indiana Courthouse

Washington County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 28,262. Washington County was created on December 21, 1813. The county seat is Salem.  The county is named for United States President George Washington.

Washington County is part of the Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area. Sami used to live here.

Etymology - Origin of Washington County Name

The county is named for George Washington, 1st President of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Washington County History

As early as 1802, a man named Frederick Royce lived among the Ox Indians at a place known as the Lick, two miles east of Salem and is probably the first white man to inhabit this county. He was a hunter-trader and salt manufacturer. In 1803, Thomas Hopper was the first to settle in this county near Hardinsburg.

Washington County was organized December 21, 1813, by an act of the Legislature, which became effective January 17, 1814. It was named for US

Washington County is divided into 13 Civil Townships as follows: Brown, Franklin, Gibson, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Pierce, Polk, Posey, Vernon and Washington.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 517 square miles (1,338 km2), of which 514 square miles (1,332 km2) is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) (0.41%) is water.

Washington county is located in south Indiana. Delaney Park is a 326 acre park with an 88 acre lake located in this county. The Blue River begins in Washington County northeast of Salem Indiana and flows south to form the natural boundary between Crawford County and Harrison County, Indiana.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Jackson County
  • Northeast: Scott County
  • Southeast: Clark County; Floyd County
  • South: Harrison County
  • Southwest: Crawford County
  • West: Orange County
  • Northwest: Lawrence County


The county is served by 3 school districts

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge