Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Wayne County, Indiana

Wayne County Education, Geography, and HistoryWayne County, Indiana Courthouse

Wayne County is a county located in the state of Indiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 68,917. Wayne County was created on November 27, 1810. The county seat is Richmond. The county is named for General "Mad" Anthony Wayne, hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Etymology - Origin of Wayne County Name

The county is named for General Anthony Wayne, victor of the 1794 Battle of the Fallen Timbers. His death occurred December 15, 1796.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

WayneCounty History

Wayne County was organized under an act of the Legislature of November 27, 1810, made effective February 1, 1811. It was named for Gen. "Mad" Anthony Wayne, who was an officer during the Revolutionary War. Wayne is mainly remembered for his service in the 1790s in the Northwest Indian War, which included many actions in Indiana and Ohio.

Wayne County is divided into 15 Civil Townships as follows: Abington, Boston, Center, Clay, Dalton, Franklin, Green, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, New Garden, Perry, Washington, Wayne and Webster.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 404 square miles (1,047 km2), of which 404 square miles (1,045 km2) is land and 1 square mile (2 km2) (0.19%) is water.

 Wayne county is located in east Indiana. The county includes Indiana's highest natural elevation, Hoosier Hill, at 1,257 feet (383 meters).

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Randolph County
  • Northeast: Darke County, Ohio
  • Southeast: Preble County, Ohio; Union County
  • Southwest: Fayette County
  • West: Henry County


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge