North Dakota Counties
North Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Dakota Counties

There are fifty-three counties in the state of North Dakota. Pembina County was created by the 1866-1867 Dakota territorial legislature, and was organized on August 12, 1867. The city of Pembina, the oldest European-American settlement in the state, was the county seat from 1867 to 1911. The seat was relocated to Cavalier.

Dickey County, North Dakota

Dickey County Education, Geography, and HistoryDickey County, North Dakota Courthouse

Dickey County is a county located in the state of North Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,289. Its county seat is Ellendale. The legislature for the Dakota Territory authorized the formation of Dickey County in 1881, naming it for one of their members, George H. Dickey. An organizing meeting was held on August 28, 1882, at Ellendale.

Etymology - Origin of Dickey County Name

Named for George H. Dickey (1858-1923), a Valley City attorney and leader in the House of Representatives.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dickey County History

Created by the 1881 territorial legislature and named for George H. Dickey (1858-1923), a Valley City attorney and leader in the House of Representatives. Government organized: August 18, 1882. County Seat: Ellendale, 1882-present.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,142 square miles (2,960 km2), of which 1,131 square miles (2,930 km2) is land and 11 square miles (28 km2) (0.9%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • LaMoure County (north)
  • Ransom County (northeast)
  • Sargent County (east)
  • Brown County, South Dakota (south)
  • McPherson County, South Dakota (southwest)
  • McIntosh County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge