North Dakota Counties
North Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Dakota Counties

There are fifty-three counties in the state of North Dakota. Pembina County was created by the 1866-1867 Dakota territorial legislature, and was organized on August 12, 1867. The city of Pembina, the oldest European-American settlement in the state, was the county seat from 1867 to 1911. The seat was relocated to Cavalier.

Foster County, North Dakota

Foster County Education, Geography, and HistoryFoster County, North Dakota Courthouse

Foster County is a county located within the state of North Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,343. Its county seat is Carrington. The county was founded in 1873 and later organized in 1883. It was named for George I. Foster, a pioneer and member of the Territorial legislature.

Etymology - Origin of Foster County Name

Named for either James S. Foster of Mitchell, SD (1828-1890) or his brother George I Foster of Fargo, ND (1837-1912).


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Foster County History

Created by the 1872-73 territorial legislature and named for either James S. Foster of Mitchell, SD (1828-1890) or his brother George I Foster of Fargo, ND (1837-1912). Both were prominent in territorial affairs at the time. Government organized: October 11, 1883. County Seat: Carrington, 1883-present.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 647 square miles (1,680 km2), of which 635 square miles (1,640 km2) is land and 11 square miles (28 km2) (1.8%) is water. It is the second-smallest county in North Dakota by area.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Eddy County (north)
  • Griggs County (east)
  • Stutsman County (south)
  • Wells County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge