North Dakota Counties
North Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Dakota Counties

There are fifty-three counties in the state of North Dakota. Pembina County was created by the 1866-1867 Dakota territorial legislature, and was organized on August 12, 1867. The city of Pembina, the oldest European-American settlement in the state, was the county seat from 1867 to 1911. The seat was relocated to Cavalier.

Golden Valley County, North Dakota

Golden Valley County Education, Geography, and HistoryGolden Valley County, North Dakota Courthouse

Golden Valley County is a county located in the state of North Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,680, making it the fourth-least populous county in North Dakota. The county seat is Beach. The county was organized on November 13, 1912

Etymology - Origin of Golden Valley County Name

The territory in the surrounding area was colloquially referred to as, Rattlesnake Flats, due to the large number of the snakes found in the area. The region was dubbed Golden Valley in 1902 after a group of land surveyors noticed that the sunlight gave the surrounding grasses a distinct golden color.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Golden Valley County History

Created from the western portion of Billings County by a favorable vote at the November 10 general election, although litigation delayed its official designation as a county until November 11, 1912. The name was probably chosen for the favorable image it projected although a Golden Valley Land and Cattle Co is known to have been a major land owner here in the early 1900's. Government organized: November 13, 1912. County Seat: Beach, 1912-present.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,002 square miles (2,600 km2), of which 1,001 square miles (2,590 km2) is land and 1.6 square miles (4.1 km2) (0.2%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • McKenzie County (north)
  • Billings County (east)
  • Slope County (south)
  • Fallon County, Montana (southwest)
  • Wibaux County, Montana (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge