North Dakota Counties
North Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Dakota Counties

There are fifty-three counties in the state of North Dakota. Pembina County was created by the 1866-1867 Dakota territorial legislature, and was organized on August 12, 1867. The city of Pembina, the oldest European-American settlement in the state, was the county seat from 1867 to 1911. The seat was relocated to Cavalier.

Nelson County, North Dakota

Nelson County Education, Geography, and HistoryNelson County, North Dakota Courthouse

Nelson County is a county located in the state of North Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,126. Its county seat is Lakota. The county was founded in 1883

Etymology - Origin of Nelson County Name

Named for Nelson E. Nelson of Pembina (1830-1913), legislator during that session.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Nelson County History

Created by the 1883 territorial legislature and named for Nelson E. Nelson of Pembina (1830-1913), legislator during that session. Government organized: June 9, 1883. County Seat: Lakota, 1883-present.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,009 square miles (2,610 km2), of which 982 square miles (2,540 km2) is land and 27 square miles (70 km2) (2.7%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Walsh County (north)
  • Grand Forks County (east)
  • Steele County (southeast)
  • Griggs County (south)\
  • Eddy County (southwest)
  • Benson County (west)
  • Ramsey County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge