North Dakota Counties
North Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Dakota Counties

There are fifty-three counties in the state of North Dakota. Pembina County was created by the 1866-1867 Dakota territorial legislature, and was organized on August 12, 1867. The city of Pembina, the oldest European-American settlement in the state, was the county seat from 1867 to 1911. The seat was relocated to Cavalier.

Ransom County, North Dakota

Ransom County Education, Geography, and HistoryRansom County, North Dakota Courthouse

Ransom County is a county located in the state of North Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,457. Its county seat is Lisbon. The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1881

Etymology - Origin of Ransom County Name

Named for the military post of Fort Ransom, 1867-72, which was located within its boundaries.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Ransom County History

Created by the 1872-73 territorial legislature and named for the military post of Fort Ransom, 1867-72, which was located within its boundaries. The fort itself named for Brig. Gen Thomas Edward Greenfield Ransom (1834-1864), a Union Army officer from Illinois who died during the Civil War. Government organized: April 4, 1881. County Seat: Lisbon, 1881-present.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 864 square miles (2,240 km2), of which 862 square miles (2,230 km2) is land and 1.4 square miles (3.6 km2) (0.2%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Cass County (northeast)
  • Richland County (east)
  • Sargent County (south)
  • Dickey County (southwest)
  • LaMoure County (west)
  • Barnes County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge