North Dakota Counties
North Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Dakota Counties

There are fifty-three counties in the state of North Dakota. Pembina County was created by the 1866-1867 Dakota territorial legislature, and was organized on August 12, 1867. The city of Pembina, the oldest European-American settlement in the state, was the county seat from 1867 to 1911. The seat was relocated to Cavalier.

Sioux County, North Dakota

Sioux County Education, Geography, and HistorySioux County, North Dakota Courthouse

Sioux County is a county located along the southern border of the state of North Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 4,153. Its eastern border is the Missouri River and its county seat is Fort Yates. The county was created by proclamation of Governor Louis B. Hanna on September 3, 1914 and named after the Native American Lakota, whose historic territory included this area and much more. The county government was first organized on September 12, 1914.

The county lies entirely within the Standing Rock Indian Reservation, forming the northernmost 30 percent of the reservation. (The balance of the reservation is in South Dakota). It is the only county in North Dakota that is entirely within an Indian reservation.

Sioux County is included in the Bismarck, ND Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Sioux County Name

Named for Dakota or Sioux Indians who inhabited the reservation.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sioux County History

Created by proclamation of Gov. Louis B. Hanna on September 3, 1914, from the area encompassed by the Standing Rock Indian Reservation in North Dakota. Named for Dakota or Sioux Indians who inhabited the reservation. Government organized: September 12, 1914. County Seat: Ft. Yates, 1914-present.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,128 square miles (2,920 km2), of which 1,094 square miles (2,830 km2) is land and 34 square miles (88 km2) (3.0%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Morton County (north)
  • Emmons County (east)
  • Corson County, South Dakota (south)
  • Adams County (west)
  • Grant County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge