Ohio Counties
Ohio County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Ohio Counties

There is eighty-eight counties in the state of Ohio. Washington County the oldest in the state established on July 27, 1788. Noble County was formed on March 11, 1851 from portions of Guernsey, Morgan, Monroe and Washington counties. It was the last county to be formed in Ohio and, therefore, represents the youngest county in the state.

Butler County, Ohio

Butler County Education, Geography, and HistoryButler County, Ohio Courthouse

Butler County is a county located in the state of Ohio. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 368,130. Its county seat is Hamilton. It is named for General Richard Butler, who died in 1791 during St. Clair's Defeat. It is also home to Miami University, an Ohio public university.

Butler County is part of the Cincinnati, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Butler County Name

The county was named in honor of Richard Butler, who was killed in St. Clair's defeat in 1791.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Butler County History

On March 24, 1803, the State of Ohio established Butler County. The county was named in honor of Richard Butler, who was killed in St. Clair's defeat in 1791. It was originally part of Hamilton County.

Butler County is located in Ohio's southwestern corner. Its western boundary lies on the Indiana border. The county is generally rural, although urban areas cover twelve percent of Butler County's 467 square miles. The county's largest city is Hamilton, the county seat, with a population of 60,690 people in 2000. Middletown and Fairfield are the next two largest cities, with populations of more than forty thousand people in 2000. Almost 333,000 people resided in Butler County in 2000. This was an increase of more than fourteen percent since 1990. The county averages approximately 713 people per square mile.

While Butler County is a rural area, the majority of its residents work in sales or in service industries. Manufacturing, especially of paper, steel, and safes, and government positions finish third and fourth among occupations. Since Butler County is relatively close to Cincinnati, many residents commute to the larger city. A number of residents also work in the construction industry. In 1999, the county's per capita income was 26,456 dollars, with approximately eight percent of the population living below the poverty level.

Most voters in Butler County claim to be independents. Educator William Holmes McGuffey and author Murat Halstead were among Butler County's most famous residents. Ohio Governor James Campbell also was from the county. Butler County is home to Miami University, the second oldest state-supported institution of higher education in Ohio. It is located in Oxford.

Butler County, Ohio History Central, July 23, 2008,

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 470 square miles (1,200 km2), of which 467 square miles (1,210 km2) is land and 3.1 square miles (8.0 km2) (0.7%) is water.

The majority of Butler County consists of the river valleys of the Great and Little Miami Rivers. The valley was originally carved by glaciation.

The soil at highest uplands is frequently heavy in clay, moving downhill to a sandy loam, while in the valleys the soil is black with river deposits.

Before deforestation by settlers, much of the area was forests of American beech and maple trees

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Preble County (north)
  • Montgomery County (northeast)
  • Warren County (east)
  • Hamilton County (south)
  • Dearborn County, Indiana (southwest)
  • Franklin County, Indiana (west)
  • Union County, Indiana (northwest)


There are sixteen school districts having territory in Butler County.

Edgewood Local School District (also in Preble)
Fairfield City School District
Hamilton City School District
Lakota Local School District
Madison Local School District
Mason City School District (also in Warren)
Middletown City School District (also in Warren)
Monroe Local School District (also in Warren)
New Miami Local School District
Northwest Local School District (also in Hamilton)
Preble Shawnee School District (also in Preble)
Princeton City School District (also in Hamilton and Warren)
Ross Local School District
Southwest Local School District (also in Hamilton)
Talawanda City School District (also in Preble)
Union County–College Corner Joint School District (also in Preble, as well as Union and Franklin counties in Indiana)

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge