Ohio State Information Guide

Capital: Columbus

March 01, 1803 (17th state)

 Ohio State Guide: 50States: StateSymbols: State Map

The land we call Ohio today was part the Northwest Territory that the United States won by defeating the British in the Revolutionary War. Ohio was admitted into the Union as the 17th state on March 1, 1803. The state gets its name from the river that forms its southern border. Ohio is an Iroquois word meaning "great water." The capital of the "Buckeye State" is Columbus, and, not surprisingly, the state tree is the buckeye. Highly populated, Ohio is situated between the Eastern Seaboard and the Midwest, and is known for the fact that eight presidents were either born or lived there. The flower of Ohio is the scarlet carnation.

Ohio State Resources and State Information

Ohio Almanac: Facts and Figures, Economy, and Geography

Ohio College, Universities, and Schools

Ohio Cities Colleges:

Ohio Medias

Ohio History, Timelines, and Famous People

Ohio Counties

Ohio Symbols

Other Ohio Resources

50 State Guide
Statue opf Liberty: 50 States Guide

The 50 US States