Ohio Counties
Ohio County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Ohio Counties

There is eighty-eight counties in the state of Ohio. Washington County the oldest in the state established on July 27, 1788. Noble County was formed on March 11, 1851 from portions of Guernsey, Morgan, Monroe and Washington counties. It was the last county to be formed in Ohio and, therefore, represents the youngest county in the state.

Clermont County, Ohio

Clermont County Education, Geography, and HistoryClermont County, Ohio Courthouse

Clermont County is a county located in the state of Ohio. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 197,363. Its county seat is Batavia. The county is named for the Clermont Province of France and means "clear mountain." Founded in 1800, it is Ohio's eighth oldest county and the state's furthest county west in Appalachia.

Clermont County is part of the Cincinnati, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Clermont County Name

The county took its name from the French phrase for "clear mountain."


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Clermont County History

On December 6, 1800, the Northwest Territory authorized the creation of Clermont County. The county took its name from the French phrase for "clear mountain." President Ulysses S. Grant was born in Clermont County and his birthplace is now the site of a state memorial operated by the Ohio Historical Society. Ohio Governor John M. Pattison also resided in the county. In 1797, Francis McCormick founded the first Methodist Church in Ohio at Milford. Many Clermont County residents played an important role in the Underground Railroad and helped runaway slaves find freedom in the North.

Clermont County is located in southwestern Ohio, and its southern border is on the Ohio River. The city of Cincinnati or its suburbs cover a portion of the county's 394 square miles. The county's largest township is Union Township with a population of 42,332 people in 2000. The largest village is Milford, with a population of 6,249 people in 2000. Clermont County experienced tremendous growth between 1990 and 2000, as many residents of Cincinnati moved away from the busyness of this major city. Between 1995 and 2000, approximately eleven thousand people moved to Clermont County, increasing the county's population to 177,977 residents. The county averages 394 people per square mile. The Village of Batavia is the county seat.

Most Clermont County residents work in Cincinnati. Residents employed in the county usually work in sales, manufacturing, or service industries. In 1999, the per capita income was just over twenty-six thousand dollars, with less than seven percent of the population living in poverty.

Most voters in Clermont County claim to be independents.

Clermont County, Ohio History Central, July 23, 2008,

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 460 square miles (1,200 km2), of which 452 square miles (1,170 km2) is land and 7.7 square miles (20 km2) (1.7%) is water. Clermont County is considered to be part of Appalachian Ohio

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Warren County (north)
  • Clinton County (north)
  • Brown County (east)
  • Bracken County, Kentucky (south)
  • Pendleton County, Kentucky (southwest)
  • Campbell County, Kentucky (southwest)
  • Hamilton County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge