Ohio Counties
Ohio County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Ohio Counties

There is eighty-eight counties in the state of Ohio. Washington County the oldest in the state established on July 27, 1788. Noble County was formed on March 11, 1851 from portions of Guernsey, Morgan, Monroe and Washington counties. It was the last county to be formed in Ohio and, therefore, represents the youngest county in the state.

Fayette County, Ohio

Fayette County Education, Geography, and HistoryFayette County, Ohio Courthouse

Fayette County is a county located in the state of Ohio. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 29,030.Its county seat is Washington Court House. The county was named for the Marquis de Lafayette, a Frenchman who was an officer in the American Army in the Revolution, when established on March 1, 1810.

Fayette County comprises the Washington Court House, OH Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Columbus-Marion-Zanesville, OH Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Fayette County Name

Residents named the county in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette, a French officer who aided the Americans during the Revolutionary War.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fayette County History

On February 19, 1810, the Ohio government authorized the creation of Fayette County. The county was originally parts of Ross and Highland Counties. Residents named the county in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette, a French officer who aided the Americans during the Revolutionary War.

Fayette County is located in south central Ohio. It is predominantly rural, with less than one percent of the county's 407 square miles consisting of urban areas. The county seat is Washington Court House. With a population of 13,524 people, Washington Court House was the county's largest community in 2000. The next largest urban area, Union township, had only 3,808 residents that same year. Fayette County experienced a slight increase in population - roughly 3.5 percent - between 1990 and 2000, raising the total number of residents to 28,433 people. The county averages less than seventy people per square mile.

The largest employers in Fayette County are sales establishments, with manufacturing positions a distant second. Farming, government careers, and service industries, such as health care and communications, are virtually equal, finishing a distant third, fourth, and fifth to sales and manufacturing positions. Interestingly, Fairfield County residents are famous for their horse breeding. The county is home to one of the best standard-bred breeding facilities in the United States. Residents also raise Hereford Cattle, among several other types of animals. In 1999, the per capita income in the county was approximately 20,600 dollars, with twelve percent of the people living in poverty.

Most voters in Fayette County claim to be independents, yet in recent years, they have overwhelmingly supported Republican Party candidates at the national level.

Fayette County, Ohio History Central, July 23, 2008,

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 407 square miles (1,050 km2), of which 406 square miles (1,050 km2) is land and 0.7 square miles (1.8 km2) (0.2%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Madison County (north)
  • Pickaway County (northeast)
  • Ross County (southeast)
  • Highland County (south)
  • Clinton County (southwest)
  • Greene County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge