Ohio Counties
Ohio County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Ohio Counties

There is eighty-eight counties in the state of Ohio. Washington County the oldest in the state established on July 27, 1788. Noble County was formed on March 11, 1851 from portions of Guernsey, Morgan, Monroe and Washington counties. It was the last county to be formed in Ohio and, therefore, represents the youngest county in the state.

Lorain County, Ohio

Lorain County Education, Geography, and HistoryLorain County, Ohio Courthouse

Lorain County is a county in northeastern Ohio. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 301,356. Its county seat is Elyria. The county was created in 1822 and later organized in 1824.

Lorain County is part of the Cleveland-Elyria, OH Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lorain County Name

The county is named for the Lorraine region of France. Many of the county's earliest white settlers were opposed to slavery.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lorain County History

On December 26, 1822, the Ohio government authorized the creation of Lorain County. It originally was a portion of Huron, Medina, and Cuyahoga Counties. It also was a part of the Connecticut Western Reserve. The county is named for the Lorraine region of France. Many of the county's earliest white settlers were opposed to slavery. Oberlin College was the first institution of higher education in the United States to admit women and African Americans into the same classes as white men.

Lorain County is located in northern Ohio and covers 493 square miles, with its northern border lying on Lake Erie. The county has grown in recent years, as residents of nearby Cleveland in Cuyahoga County have moved to Lorain and surrounding counties to escape the busyness of the city. Between 1990 and 2000, Lorain County's population increased by five percent to a total of 284,664 residents in 2000. Elyria is the county seat and the second largest community in the county, with 55,953 residents in 2000. The county averages 577 residents per square mile.

Lorain County is overwhelmingly rural, with only seven percent of the county deemed to be urban, but most residents earn their livings by working in manufacturing, sales, or service positions. Farming ranks eighth. Some county residents also earn their livings on Lake Erie, working in the city of Lorain's harbor, sending products across the Great Lakes and around the world. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, steel was a major industry in Lorain County. The county's average income was approximately 25,700 dollars per person in 1999, with 10.4 percent of the population living in poverty.

Most voters in Lorain County claim to be independents, yet in recent years, they have overwhelmingly supported Democratic candidates at the national level.

Ohio Governor Myron T. Herrick was born in the county. Scientist Charles Martin Hall and artist Archibald M. Willard were also Lorain County residents

Lorain County, Ohio History Central, July 24, 2008,

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 923 square miles (2,390 km2), of which 491 square miles (1,270 km2) is land and 432 square miles (1,120 km2) (47%) is water. It is the fourth-largest county in Ohio by total area.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Across Lake Erie lies Chatham-Kent, Ontario, Canada (north)
  • Cuyahoga County (east)
  • Medina County (southeast)
  • Ashland County (south)
  • Huron County (southwest)
  • Erie County (west)


Higher education

Lorain County Community College, Elyria
Oberlin College, Oberlin

Public school districts

There are 20 public school districts in Lorain County.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge