Ohio Counties
Ohio County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Ohio Counties

There is eighty-eight counties in the state of Ohio. Washington County the oldest in the state established on July 27, 1788. Noble County was formed on March 11, 1851 from portions of Guernsey, Morgan, Monroe and Washington counties. It was the last county to be formed in Ohio and, therefore, represents the youngest county in the state.

Lucas County, Ohio

Lucas County Education, Geography, and HistoryLucas County, Ohio Courthouse

Lucas County is a county located in the state of Ohio and bordered on the east by Lake Erie, and on the southeast by the Maumee River, which runs to the lake. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 441,815. Its county seat is Toledo, located at the mouth of the Maumee River on the lake. The county was named for Robert Lucas, 12th governor of Ohio, in 1835 during his second term. Its establishment provoked the Toledo War conflict with the Michigan Territory, which claimed some of its area.

Lucas County is part of the Toledo, OH Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lucas County Name

Residents chose the name Lucas in honor of Robert Lucas, the governor of Ohio.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lucas County History

On June 20, 1835, the Ohio government established Lucas County. Residents chose the name Lucas in honor of Robert Lucas, the governor of Ohio. Lucas County was part of the territory that came under dispute between Ohio and Michigan during the "Toledo War." The Ohio government tried to solidify its claim over the disputed land by creating Lucas County. Previous to the Toledo War, Lucas County was the sight of the Battle of Fallen Timbers. In 1794, General Anthony Wayne defeated an alliance of Ohio's Indian tribes, solidifying white control over the majority of Ohio.

Lucas County is located in the northwestern portion of Ohio. The county's northern border helps form Ohio's boundary with Michigan. The county seat is Toledo, which is the county's largest population center, with 313,619 residents in 2000. The county's next largest community is Sylvania Township, with a population of approximately 25,600 people in 2000. The county experienced a slight decrease in population between 1990 and 2000, reducing the total population to 455,054 residents. This decrease was primarily due to people leaving the busyness of Toledo behind to move to quieter neighboring counties. An average of 1,338 people live in each of Lucas County's 340 square miles.

Urban areas comprise eighteen percent of Lucas County's land mass. Most residents find employment in service-oriented and sales positions, with manufacturing jobs ranking a distant third. During the late nineteenth century, Toledo was known as the "City of Glass" for its numerous glass-producing facilities. The city was also the home of the Willys-Overland Company, the largest manufacturer of jeeps during World War II in the United States. The county's average income was 27,361 dollars per person in 1999, with 13.6 percent of the population living in poverty.

Most voters in Lucas County claim to be independents, yet in recent years, they have overwhelmingly supported Democratic candidates at the national level.

Among the county's more prominent residents was actor Jamie Farr, one of the stars of the sitcom M.A.S.H. Ohio Governor Michael DiSalle and Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court Morrison R. Waite also were Lucas County residents.

Lucas County, Ohio History Central, July 24, 2008,

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 596 square miles (1,540 km2), of which 341 square miles (880 km2) is land and 255 square miles (660 km2) (43%) is water. It is the fourth-smallest county in Ohio by land area. Much of the county lies within what was at the time of its establishment, a vast network of forests, wetlands, and grasslands known as the Great Black Swamp.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Monroe County, Michigan (north)
  • Across Lake Erie lies Essex County, Ontario (northeast)
  • Ottawa County (southeast)
  • Wood County (south)
  • Henry County (southwest)
  • Fulton County (west)
  • Lenawee County, Michigan (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge