Ohio Counties
Ohio County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Ohio Counties

There is eighty-eight counties in the state of Ohio. Washington County the oldest in the state established on July 27, 1788. Noble County was formed on March 11, 1851 from portions of Guernsey, Morgan, Monroe and Washington counties. It was the last county to be formed in Ohio and, therefore, represents the youngest county in the state.

Wyandot County, Ohio

Wyandot County Education, Geography, and HistoryWyandot County, Ohio Courthouse

Wyandot County is a county located in the state of Ohio. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 22,615. Its county seat is Upper Sandusky. Its name comes from the Wyandot Indians and is variously translated from their language as "around the plains" and "dwellers on the peninsula"

Etymology - Origin of Wyandot County Name

Residents named the county in honor of the Wyandot Indians.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wyandot County History

On February 3, 1845, the Ohio government authorized the creation of Wyandot County. Residents named the county in honor of the Wyandot Indians. Previously, the county had been part of land reserved to Ohio's Indian people, under the Treaty of Greeneville.

Wyandot County is located in northern Ohio. It is predominantly rural, with only four percent of the county's 406 square miles consisting of urban areas. The county seat is Upper Sandusky. With a population of 6,533 people, Upper Sandusky was the county's largest community in 2000. Many residents of Ohio's rural communities are seeking better lives and more opportunities in the state's larger cities, but Wyandot County seems to be remaining stable in population. Wyandot County experienced a 2.9 percent population growth rate between 1990 and 2000, bringing the total number of residents up to 22,908. The county averages fifty-six people per square mile.

Farming is the largest employer in Wyandot County, with eighty percent of the county's acreage under cultivation. Manufacturing businesses rank a close second. In 1999, the per capita income in the county was just over twenty-two thousand dollars, with seven percent of the people living in poverty.

Most voters in Wyandot County claim to be independents, yet in recent years, they have overwhelmingly supported Republican Party candidates at the national level.

Wyandot County, Ohio History Central, July 24, 2008,

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 408 square miles (1,060 km2), of which 407 square miles (1,050 km2) is land and 0.7 square miles (1.8 km2) (0.2%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Seneca County (north)
  • Crawford County (east)
  • Marion County (south)
  • Hardin County (southwest)
  • Hancock County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge