Rhode Island Counties
Rhode Island County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Rhode Island Counties

There are five counties in the state of Rhode Island. Rhode Island has the second lowest number of counties of any US state (only Delaware has fewer, with three counties). Although Rhode Island is divided into counties, it does not have any local government at the county level.

Kent County, Rhode Island

Kent County Education, Geography, and HistoryKent County, Rhode Island Courthouse

Kent County is a county located in the state of Rhode Island. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 166,158. The county was formed in 1750 from the southern third of Providence County. It was named after the county of Kent, in England. Kent County, like other counties in Rhode Island, no longer has governmental functions (other than as court administrative and sheriff corrections boundaries).

Kent County is included in the Providence-Warwick, RI-MA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Boston-Worcester-Providence, MA-RI-NH-CT Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Kent County Name

Named for Henry Grey, 1st Duke of Kent.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kent County History

Established: June 11, 1750
Parent County: Providence

Bristol County was created from Bristol, Mass., 1747. Kent County was made from Providence County in 1750. Newport County was originally created as Rhode Island County in 1703 and renamed in 1729. Providence County was formed as Providence Plantations County in 1703. Washington County was originally created as Kings County from Providence Plantations in 1729 and renamed in 1781. Block Island was transferred from Newport County to Washington County May 6, 1963. Although you will see the "South County" mentioned in many places, it does not exist as an actual county. Basically, Charlestown, Exeter, Hopkinton, Narragansett, North Kingstown, Richmond, South Kingstown, Westerly and West Greenwich, make up what is known as South County, RI

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 188 square miles (487 km2), of which, 170 square miles (441 km2) of it is land and 18 square miles (46 km2) of it (9.53%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Providence County, Rhode Island - north
  • Bristol County, Rhode Island - east
  • Washington County, Rhode Island - south
  • New London County, Connecticut - west
  • Windham County, Connecticut - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge