South Dakota Counties
South Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

South Dakota Counties

There are sixty-six counties in the state of South Dakota. Todd County and Oglala Lakota County are the only counties in South Dakota which do not have their own county seats

Bon Homme County, South Dakota

Bon Homme County Education, Geography, and History

Bon Homme County, South Dakota Courthouse

Bon Homme County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,070. Its county seat is Tyndall.

Etymology - Origin of Bon Homme County Name

Bon Homme is named after Bon Homme Island in the Missouri River. Bon homme is French for good man.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Bon Homme County History

A French voyageur, exploring the Missouri River on an early expedition, was probably responsible for the naming of Bon Homme County. This name was first applied to a 2,000-acre island in the river. Bon Homme, a town that sprang up near by and took its name from the island, was the earliest settlement in the county. When the county was organized in 1862 by an act of the first territorial legislature, they named the county for the village, which was made the county seat. In 1885 Tyndall was named the county seat. An attempt to change the name of the county from "Bon Homme" to "Jefferson" in 1885 was not approved by Governor Edmunds.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 581 square miles (1,506 km2), of which, 563 square miles (1,459 km2) of it is land and 18 square miles (47 km2) of it (3.09%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Hutchinson County, South Dakota - north
  • Yankton County, South Dakota - east
  • Knox County, Nebraska - south
  • Charles Mix County, South Dakota - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge